Have you ever tried Sunday brunch at Dijon’s market halls? From June to September, a Dijon chef prepares succulent dishes for you to enjoy with family or friends in a lively atmosphere of togetherness.

Brunch, a concept #lebhd

Every Sunday, a different chef concocts a delicious brunch menu of succulent sweet and savoury dishes. These culinary delights are presented on a vast buffet laid out under the majestic arches of the market halls.

After generously filling their plates, the “brunchers” all sit together around a long table to savour this Sunday treat proposed by one of Dijon’s top chefs.

Brunch at Les Halles in Dijon is a wonderful opportunity to try some quality house cooking: parsley ham, rillettes of Jura trout, saucisson in brioche, confit baby potatoes with rosemary… And because this is brunch day, you can even start with dessert if you so wish: carrot cake, amandine tart, chocolate crunch or panna cotta…

Family entertainment

The warm and friendly atmosphere comes with entertainment too, so Brunch at Les Halles is a great way for holidaymakers to mingle with the locals. Jazz piano concert, cabaret performance or a merry brass band, the ambience is musical, every time.

From 11 am until 3 pm, brunch time is party time! Food lovers wander through the halls admiring the short-lived displays, the artistic performances or the creators’ market.

Every Sunday, the tone is set with a different entertainment programme. Children join in with activities specially designed for them, including creative paper workshops, board games and make-up sessions.

Central market halls of Dijon

Built in 1875 on the site of the former Jacobin convent, Dijon’s central market halls are a listed historical monument. Market is held in the halls every Tuesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday morning.

The metallic construction covers an area of 4400 m² and reaches a height of 13 metres. It has four wings arranged around two main aisles forming a cross, where you’ll find 246 boutiques, 14 annexes and 728 benches.

The market halls were designed in 1869 by the architect to the City of Dijon, Ballard, who was inspired by the style of Gustave Eiffel. The construction was completed by his successor, Louis-Clément Weinbergers. The market halls are a succession of arches and fluted columns supporting a structure of metal and are reminiscent of the central market halls of Paris.

Practical information

Dates: every Sunday from June to September
Place: in the market halls
Time: 11 am to 3 pm
Bookings: http://bhd.otdijon.com/
Price: €25 for adults, €12 for children

Connaissez-vous le brunch du dimanche midi sous les halles du marché de Dijon ? De juin à septembre, un chef dijonnais prépare de succulents plats à déguster en famille ou entre amis dans une ambiance animée et conviviale.

Le concept du brunch #lebhd

Chaque dimanche, un chef différent orchestre le menu du brunch composé de délicieux petits plats sucrés et salés. Les préparations culinaires sont disposées sur un grand buffet dressé sous les majestueuses voûtes des halles du marché.

Une fois leurs assiettes bien garnies, les « bruncheurs » se retrouvent autour d’une longue tablée pour savourer le repas dominical élaboré par un grand chef dijonnais.

Le brunch des halles de Dijon présente une formidable occasion de déguster des mets de qualité faits maison : jambon persillé, rillettes de truite du Jura, saucisson brioché, grenailles confites au romarin… Et comme c’est jour de brunch, on a même le droit de commencer par le dessert : carrot cake, tarte amandine, croustillant au chocolat ou panacotta …

Des animations pour toute la famille

Dans une atmosphère chaleureuse ponctuée d’animations, le brunch des Halles facilite les rencontres entre habitants et vacanciers. Concert de piano jazz, spectacle de cabaret ou joyeuse fanfare, l’ambiance musicale est à chaque fois au rendez-vous.

De 11 heures à 15 heures, c’est la fête pendant le brunch ! Les gastronomes déambulent sous les halles entre expositions éphémères, performances artistiques ou marché de créateurs.

Chaque dimanche, un nouveau programme d’animation donne le ton. Les enfants participent aux activités spécialement prévues pour eux : ateliers de création en papier, jeux de plateau ou séances de maquillage…

Les halles centrales de Dijon

Construites en 1875 sur l’emplacement de l’ancien couvent des Jacobins, les halles centrales de Dijon sont inscrites à l’inventaire des monuments historiques. Le marché se tient sous les halles le mardi, jeudi, vendredi et samedi matin.

La construction métallique présente un bâtiment de 4400 m2 sur 13 mètres de haut. Quatre pavillons articulés autour de deux allées principales disposées en croix, abritent 246 boutiques, 14 annexes et 728 bancs.

Inspirées du style de Gustave Eiffel, les halles ont été imaginées en 1869 par l’architecte de la ville de Dijon, Ballard, puis terminées par son successeur Louis-Clément Weinbergers. Les halles présentent une succession d’arcades et de colonnes cannelées surmontée d’une charpente métallique rappelant les halles centrales de Paris.

Informations pratiques

Dates : les dimanches de juin à septembre 
Lieu : sous les halles du marché
Horaires : de 11 h à 15 h
Réservations : http://bhd.otdijon.com/